November Mist

I cant help but feel surrounded by an orb of awesome energy everywhere I go. Living in Chicago has been inspiring above all else.

It’s made me want to engage things with much more purpose and approach things as if I’m on a mission to increase my influence all around me.

Finding motivation in from other places is easy for me – music, nature, fashion, sports, famous quotes – and it’s something I’m determined to continue to be proactive at.

I think the most important element you can draw inspiration from is appreciation. When you appreciate all the things you have and are fortunate enough to experience instead of fretting over what you do not have, you realize just how abundant your world really is.

I read this great quote recently on The Positivity Blog, and made me realize how much harder I need to keep pushing myself to improve and really take my discipline in all aspects of my life to another level.

“Inspiration is wonderful when it happens, but the writer must develop an approach for the rest of the time…The wait is simply too long.” ~Leonard Bernstein

Reading is essential because you can learn in short time knowledge that someone else labored long and hard for. You stop learning when you stop reading.

I did the 12 books in 12 months experiment to see if it fired up my desire to read more and it definitely has. I recommend it to anyone and everyone. Even if it’s three in three months, six in six, etc. etc., it can still be a very effective tool to improve your reading and learning on all levels.

12 Books in 12 Months Progress

1} A Brief History of the Paradox: Philosophy & the Labyrinths of the Mind by Roy Sorenson
2} Outstanding by John G. Miller
3} A World of Ideas by Chris Rohman
4} This I Believe: The Personal Philosophies of Remarkable Men & Women by Jay Allison & Dan Gediman
5} All I Really Need To Know I Learned In Kindergarten by Robert Fulghum
6} Secret Tactics by Kazumi Tabata {reread}
7} Making Ideas Happen by Scott Belsky
8} Linchpin by Seth Godin
9} The Little Black Book on Violence by Kris Wilder
10} Brains On Fire by Robbin Phillips
11} How Did I Get Here? by Tony Hawk

Recently I wrote a vision manifesto on paper to help me visualize my dreams with more clarity, an excellent activity for planning out the things you wish want will become.

Then, you can transfer it to the digital level. Mine looks like this:

Make No Chop Poker the best poker ninja apparel in the history of the universe/Earn $1m/Become a multimillionaire/Give $10,000 to Bad Beat on Cancer{1% of $1m}/Sponsor myself in a $10k major/Sponsor someone else in a $10k major/Spend 2 months studying MMA in Japan/Watch an Arsenal game @ Emirates Stadium in London/Get multiple tattoos/Spend a winter snowboarding in Colorado/Drive from ocean to ocean/Go backpacking/Jump out of a perfectly good airplane{with a parachute}/Learn to fly a plane/Open a restaurant and bar/Start a golf cafe/Buy a European sports car/Visit French Polynesia/Learn to scuba dive/Make a movie/Complete a survival and tracking course/Become fluent in Spanish and French/Earn a Microsoft certification/Experience the rain forest/Live in NYC if only briefly/Learn to drive standard and take stunt driving course/Start a scholarship/Write a self-help Ebook/Write a novel/Ride a Ducati/Become a scratch golfer/Own a handgun/Get a Windows 7 phone/Become a true blog ninja/Have a $20k day in poker/Have a $20k week in poker/Have a $20k month in poker/Go hunting/Become awesome at bow staff/Have a Guinness in Ireland/Spend an April 20th in Amsterdam whilst enjoying an Amstel/Drink at Octoberfest in Germany/Experience Burning Man! in Las Vegas/

Don’t you think if I did half of those things in my lifetime, it would be pretty fucking awesome?!?!?!

The key is not to set a ceiling or any limitations for yourself. Be bold. Just because it’s highly unlikely for you to be a billionaire shouldn’t stop you shooting for it and moving closer to that goal or thinking that you’re great enough to become one. DON’T SELL YOURSELF SHORT.

Note:: since I wrote that manifesto sometime last week, I ordered a Samsung Focus Windows 7 phone!! 🙂

“Know what you want to do, hold the thought firmly and do every day what should be done, and every sunset will see you that much nearer the goal.” ~Elbert Hubbard

More than anything on the planet I want to spread my influence on poker outside and in by changing the way you see and imagine the players in the game. It just so happens I found a way I can do that and help fight cancer at the same time. This is what I want. These are my goals.

Goals dictate strategy. Strategy dictates tactics. Tactics dictate techniques.

I can’t even put into words how excited I truly am to finally have No Chop Poker gear pressed and on my own as well as the rest of the ninja clan’s back. Perhaps the achievement of mine I’m most of proud of, along with the commitment with Prevent Cancer Foundation to give 1% of all profits to it’s poker branch Bad Beat on Cancer.

All anyone really wants in life is to do be able to do all of the cool things that they enjoy and love. If you’re not doing that then what are you really doing??

“I’m tired of hearing about money, money, money, I just want to play the game, drink Pepsi, wear Reebok.” ~Shaquille O’Neal

When I first read this I almost died laughing!! But the more I thought about it the more I realized just how true this it is. Say what you want about Shaq but he enjoys the Hell outta what he does, and isn’t shy about telling you about it.

Here’s to living your dream!

Zune Top 5
1} Marijuana by Kid Cudi on Man on the Moon II: The Legend of Mr. Rager
2} Radioactive by Kings of Leon on Come Around Sundown
3} The Cafe by Zee Piff on The Doom Generation
4} Everlasting Light by The Black Keys on Brothers
5} King Kong by Curren$y on Pilot Talk

~ by therealJWilliam on November 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
