Up On Things

The time that has elapsed between my last post and now has been pretty surreal in more ways than one. Between all the business developments I’m involved in and the events of the past few weeks, I have a new found focus and motivation to accomplish the goals I’ve set out for myself.

Before I go any further, I’d like to take the time to remember a childhood classmate and friend of mine who took his own life recently. I don’t feel I need to speak on his name, nor find it appropriate. However, I do feel it’s necessary to say that I’m going to live this life with the vigor and energy for all of those who have left us far too early. If there’s one message I’ve taken away from my father’s death and the passing of other friends and classmates, it’s to stay positive.

With that being said, being able to celebrate my father’s life with a lot of family and friends over last weekend I think brings all of us to do just that. I’ve been doing my best to live my own life in a way that he would respect and admire me for, and that’s all I can do.

The golf tourny went smoothly aside from the rain pushing back the initial tee times of the second group an hour or so. After that cleared up it really turned out to be a beautiful afternoon for golf. My group of consisting of my younger brother, my sister’s boyfriend and myself, however, didn’t exactly dazzle the competition. Soo, for the fourth year running I put in yet another disappointing performance, which grossly changes my strategy for next year. I’ve decided to bring in a couple ringers, most notably KFDeux and BriN1285 of n0ch0p fame and fortune. Combine that with the leak I plugged in my drive, and you might as well chalk up that W now.

As far as the next week is concerned, the aforementioned members of NC & I will be attending game 3 of the NLDS on Saturday in Saint Louis. I’m pretty stoked never having been to a playoff game before, so it should be dope.

Aside from that, my attempt to pass my second A+ exam to collect my certification is right around the corner. I’m excited to finally complete this goal and continue achieving accomplishments in the IT realm, as it’s something I truly enjoy. Much like poker and martial arts, it is something that evolves everyday and that one will never be perfect at. I’ve become aware that these are the challenges I tend to relish and excel at most.

I continue to progress daily with my workouts and, for the most part, my diet. For instance, last night I ate some Skittles and more than two slices of Hawaiian pizza, so needless to say maybe I could have done better to control my nutrition and calorie intake. With that being said, I have made some strides concerning this vice.

Two weeks ago I promised myself I would not eat another box of Dots (Bombest. Candy. Ever.) until New Year’s Day, which will be no problem but something I look forward to very much. I’ve given up essentially all processed shit, stuff that’s not really food at all, i.e. Doritos, fast food, etc. I never really liked any of that garbage anyway and am happy to do without it.

Usually I eat oatmeal or a slice of wheat bread with peanut butter and a banana for breakfast, with either a small cup of juice, a tall glass of water, or both. If it’s before I work out I generally wait at least an hour and a half before I start.

Lunch is usually the same sandwich from Subway (9 grain honey oat, turkey, pepperjack cheese, lettuce, tomato, green peppers, baby spinach, cucumbers, & ranch) or a MET-RX Big 100 Colossal meal replacement bar, usually Super Cookie Crunch, with a Naked Juice or Odwalla protein drink. I don’t get why people don’t like Subway. I guess as my friend so eloquently put it a few weeks back, “It’s too healthy.”

I’ve been trying to eat as much salmon and chicken as possible for dinner, with rice and veggies on the side. The last 4 or 5 months of eating like this have helped me boost my energy and fitness levels tremendously and I wish I would have established this routine some time ago.

This past week I tweaked my schedule a little so I could workout and run earlier in the day, then get in another workout in with some weight training or use Total Gym later in the evening. Made it a goal to run 10 miles each week as a minimum. I usually warm up with some shadow sparring. I’ll throw a 1-2-1 (jab, straight, jab) and reset four times, do 12 pushups, get up and throw 12 knee strikes. I work my way down from 12 (pushups/knees) to 8 to 4, then back up. That usually gets the blood flowing pretty good.

Afterward I run through the park around the corner or neighboring subdivisions at a pretty moderate pace no matter how far I plan on going, I generally don’t break that stride because I don’t stretch until afterward. I then repeat my initial warmup and go from there, mixing it up a little, working on my forms until I feel like I’ve accomplished enough. There’s nothing more satisfying than watching myself get better as a fighter and a person everyday.

I would never think about competing in MMA unless I absolutely had to, which I don’t see happening. My reasoning for this is based mostly on traditional martial arts philosophy, that competition weakens the fighter because it places limits on their training and instincts. However, I want to be in peak physical condition so I could fight if I actually wanted to. I’d say another 6-8 weeks of training like I have been and I’ll be right there.

I’d love to hear some varying opinions regarding this particular topic, or some insight from people who are familiar with this subject or have training/fighting experience.

In the meantime I’ve started writing down essentially everything I do on a daily basis to make publishing entries easier and more time efficient. I’ve made it a priority to get in at least two entries every calendar month. Thanks for all of your feedback, keep it coming.

Zune Top 5:
1} Pursuit of Happiness (Nightmare) by Kid Cudi on Man On The Moon: The End

2} Diamonds & Girls by Lil Wayne & Currensy
3} Neva Antiquated (Dark Jedi Remix) by Jedi Mind Tricks on The Psycho-Social, Chemical, Biological & Electro-Magnetic Manipulation of Human Consciousness
4} Comfortably Numb by Pink Floyd on The Wall
5} E.I. by Nelly on Country Grammar

Zune logo

~ by therealJWilliam on October 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
