A Toast To The Good Life

I’ve been back home now for a little over a week, which has been refreshing to say the least. Traveling anywhere, no matter how new or familiar, is always a terrific experience, but I can’t imagine not having a place to hang your hat when you get tired of trekking around. That being said however, I’m trying to plan a few more excursions in the next 6-12 months. Backpacking and camping are certainly on the agenda, although where and when and with who is far from set in stone.

Since returning to the Midwest, I’ve been doing everything possible to be progressive — studying A+ after a brief hiatus to prepare to gain my certification, pushing myself to work out hard everyday, and planning out the next several months.

After much reflection and thought, I’m doing my best to think of ways to improve my quality of life and have set some goals for myself for the rest of the calendar year and 2010 as well. Some of them are pretty straightforward, like reading 10 books before the new year. While on the surface this might seem a bit extreme, I’m including the (five or so?) books I’m reading now, some of which I’m the majority of the way through already. I actually find it incredibly easy to juggle so many books, depending on what type of mood I’m in or what I’m wanting to accomplish by days end…basically whatever I think will spark some creativity at the time.

Other goals include leveling up at DragonFire, and achieving both my A+ certification & MCDST(Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Tech.), a total of three exams. I should accomplish all of these goals with relative ease in the next two months.

Surprisingly, none of the goals I initially set for myself had anything to do with poker. For a moment, this made me scratch my head. I then came to the realization that because I have essentially played zero poker for the last month since returning from LV, I’ve become content(?) that I can just as easily obtain the same enjoyment on any given day doing any number of activities as I do from 9 tabling for 8 hours…and I love poker. I’ve undoubtedly poured more time and effort and energy into poker in general over the last 6+ yrs of my life than every other mild interest in my life combined.

It’s hard to really weigh the value of playing a single or several long winning sessions versus enjoying a getaway to somewhere new, especially if playing is making all of it possible in the first place. Obviously it’s far from healthy to play online all the time and never branch out into other activities, particularly something you have not tried before.

Irish poet and author Oscar Wilde once said, “Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.” The more I think about this quote, the more ideas come to mind of what I want to accomplish and experience in this lifetime. I want to visit the five (warm) continents, learn to surf, own multiple businesses, just to name a few…the possibilities are endless.

Outside the great Emirates Stadium

While all those thing I listed previously are pretty basic, I’ve set aside some other events on my ‘bucket list’ to take in before long, namely an Arsenal FC game @ Emirates Stadium and another versus Manchester United, as well as attending the 2010 World Cup in South Africa. I can’t make up for lost time, but I can do everything in my power to make sure I do not make the same mistake in the future.

Anyway, I’m long overdue for a good meal, but felt obligated to pump this update out since I originally planned on writing it almost a week ago. I’ll definitely write another entry tomorrow hopefully, because I really wanted to address some IT issues and news that’s come out the past few days. If you’re in the area and want to hang out or to plan some sick trip somewhere, shoot me an email or msg on FB! Deuces

Zune Top 5:
1} Wetter by Twista on Category F5
2} So Fly by 213 on The Hard Way
3} Hustle by Cam’ron ft. Rick Ross & Vado
4} A Toast To The Good Life by Fabolous
5} Up On It by Young Dro & T.I.

~ by therealJWilliam on August 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
