Windows Of Opportunity

Hanging out in the northeast for the past week and a half has been such an awesome time, even if it’s rained almost every day since I got here. Thankfully it was perfect weather for my cousin’s wedding reception in NH, which was a blast! I was sooo stoked to see almost all of my father’s side of the family, many of which I hadn’t seen in far too long. Spending all day with so many people I care about was just too cool, I really wish I could do it more often.

I’ve also had the chance to hang out with some of my oldest and closest friends, something that brings back several spectacular memories from growing up out here. It makes me think just how easy it is (today) to reach out to someone you haven’t seen or spoken to in a while, yet how complicated we all find it to juggle all of the relationships with the people we’ve seemingly lost touch with. I’ve promised both myself and others that next time we catch up will be sooner rather than later.

After a crazy weekend I’m heading to Block Island on Tuesday, chillin in Point Judith Wednesday before heading back to CT briefly, then heading down to NYC Thursday to visit my older brother. I haven’t been there in a few years so I’m excited to be a part of the chaos. Not sure what else I’ll be doing until I leave…I do, however, plan on spending as much time as possible with a very beautiful young lady that, although a bit mischievous herself, does an excellent job keeping me out of trouble. It’s quite unfortunate we live so far apart, as I have yet to come across a person who’s company I enjoy more.

I fly home Sunday and will lay low because I gotta sick birthday plan for Monday. Gonna head to StL in the afternoon and grab a nice lunch with some of the n0ch0pp0ker crew before the Cardinals/Reds game. Haven’t figured out where we’re setting up shop yet…Harrah’s, Hotel Lumiere or Four Seasons right next door. I usually don’t get very excited for things like this, but it’s gonna be a fun time so I’m pretty stoked.

Ran some full court 5v5 the other night under the lights, which I hadn’t done in what feels like forever. Watching the same summer league I used to shred had me wondering where all the years have gone? I’ll be 23 in a little over a week…really? Anyway, nuthin better (well, almost) to clear your head than a few competitive pickup games. When I play basketball, much like poker, I totally forget about everything that is going on and just focus on playing the game I studied and practiced for so long perfectly. It’s a type of mental discipline I’ve always possessed, but only in the past few years have I started harness it consciously.

My diet has either been absolutely stellar or particularly lackluster from day to day here, but my workout routine has been pretty solid. Been running about 2 miles a day and hitting the bench hard afterward, which is really convenient to have around. I’ve also really started to fall in love with shadowboxing. It gives me the ability to see everything improving in front of me: my footwork, my hand speed, my form and technique. I’m extremely eager to get back and start training at the DragonFire Dojo again. Certainly one of the best decisions of my life.

Other than all that, I’ve been doing a lot of IT and business stuff, trying to organize my digital life. Haven’t studied much A+ lately – didn’t even bring study guide out here – but I know I’m ready to take 220-602 IT Technician and PWN it. I’ve started studying for both of my Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician (MCDST) exams: Supporting Users and Troubleshooting a Windows XP Operating System 70-271 and Supporting Users and Troubleshooting Desktop Applications on a Windows XP Operating System 70-272.

It’s easier than it sounds.

Had a chance to check out Windows 7 RTM (release to manufacturer)edition the past couple days, which IS sick. I’ll make the transition in the next few days. With Windows 7 due to drop this fall along with the ZUNE HD, and after officially partnering up with Yahoo! this past week, Microsoft looks poised to finish the year on a strong note, increasing it’s market share of online search and advertising. If you use Google for online search, I highly recommend switching over to the much more attractive, Microsoft powered bing.com engine, which frankly is a lot cooler, and returns shorter, more valuable results.

Not much is new over at Apple aside from your occasional iPhone related murder-suicide. Other than that, it was just a really normal month of June. You know, patching year-old vulnerabilities that could leave all customers helpless, playing grabass with Google, tormented by children, and, last but not least, the increasingly frequent but never boring flaming alien iPhone of death.

Who ever thought being a fanboy could be so fun?

Zune Top 5:
1} Plenty Money by Plies on Da Realist
2} Robocop by Kanye West on 808s & Heartbreak
3} Kinda Like A Big Deal by The Clipse & Kanye West
4} Warm Embrace by Twista & The Speedknot Mobstaz on Mobstability
5} Barry Bonds Freestyle by Fabolous

~ by therealJWilliam on August 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

